Hindu-Christian Studies Book Award

Every two years, the society grants an award for the “Best Book in Hindu-Christian Studies.” The award, which carries an honorarium of $500, alternates between two categories, theology/philosophy and history/ethnography, and covers a four-year period. Books nominated for the prize must be published between July 1st in the first year and July 1st in the last year of the cycle.

The next prize cycles will be:

History/Ethnography (2013-2017) – To be announced at the 2018 annual meeting
Theology/Philosophy (2015-2019) – To be announced at the 2020 annual meeting
History/Ethnography (2017-2021) – To be announced at the 2022 annual meeting

Best Book in Hindu-Christian Studies (2011-2015)

The Society for Hindu-Christian Studies is pleased to announce that the winner of the Best Book in Hindu-Christian Studies: Theology/Philosophy (2011-2015) is Chakravarthi Ram-Prasad's Divine Self, Human Self: The Philosophy of Being in Two Gita Commentaries (Bloomsbury Academic, 2013).

The society will hold a panel discussion of Dr. Ram-Prasad's book at its November, 2016 annual meeting in San Antonio.

A special "thank you" to the book prize committee: Sucharita Adluri, Ankur Barua, Jonathan Edelmann, Michael McLaughlin, Jon Paul Sydnor, and Michelle Voss Roberts (chair).

Nominations Now Being Accepted

Nominations are now being accepted for the society's award, Best Book in Hindu-Christian Studies: History/Ethnography (2013-2017). Please send nominations to Kerry San Chirico, Villanova University, chair of the Book Award Committee.

At the society’s annual meeting in November 2017, the Book Award Committee will announce a shortlist of books under consideration for the award. In February 2018, the committee will announce the winner, and the award will be presented at the 2018 annual meeting. To celebrate this award winner, the society will also sponsor a panel discussion of the book, to which the author will be invited to respond.

Past Winners

Winners of the Best Book in Hindu-Christian Studies award in past years include those listed below.  The society extends its ongoing appreciation to the authors for their extraordinary contributions to scholarship in this field.

1991-1993, Diana L. Eck, Encountering God: A Spiritual Journey From Bozeman to Banaras (Beacon Press, 1993) Encountering God
1994-1996, Francis X. Clooney, Seeing Through Texts: Doing Theology among the Srivaisnavas of South India (SUNY, 1996) Seeing Through Texts
1997-1999, Julius J. Lipner, Brahmabandhab Upadhyay: The Life and Thought of a Revolutionary (Oxford, 1999) Brahmabandhab
2000-2002, Corinne Dempsey, Kerala Christian Sainthood: Collisions of Culture and Worldview in South India (Oxford, 2000). Kerala Christian Sainthood
2003-2005, Eliza F. Kent, Converting Women: Gender and Conversion to Christianity in Colonial South India  (Oxford, 2004). Converting Women
2006-2008, Chad Bauman, Christian Identity and Dalit Religion in Hindu India, 1968-1947 (Eerdmans, 2008). Bauman CIDR
2008-2011 (Theology/Philosophy), Michelle Voss Roberts, Dualities: A Theology of Difference (Westminster John Knox Press, 2010). Voss Roberts Cover
2009-2013 (History/Ethnography), David Mosse, The Saint and the Banyan Tree: Christianity and Caste Society in India (University of California Press, 2012). Saint Banyan Tree
2011-2015 (Theology/Philosophy), Chakravarthi Ram-Prasad, Divine Self, Human Self: The Philosophy of Being in Two Gita Commentaries (Bloomsbury Academic, 2013). Divine Self